All-Central Wrestling: Seven states qualifiers earn first-team spots

by Matthew De George, Delaware County Daily Times

Posted on March 17, 2020

Article originally appeared here:

An unprecedented 10 Delco wrestlers qualified for the PIAA Class 3A Tournament this season. All seven of the representatives from the Central League have unsurprisingly been named to the All-Central team, as voted on by league coaches and released to the media Tuesday.

The popular weight class is 182 pounds, which produced states qualifiers Shane McAdams of Haverford and Gabe Federico of Strath Haven. Those two are on the All-Central team along with two others, Conestoga's Nico Arbes and Garnet Valley's Dillon Conlon.

Federico's teammate Chase Barlow (138 pounds) is also on the All-Central first team, as are Upper Darby's two states qualifiers - 113-pounder Keito Shaw and heavyweight Julian Laventure. Garnet Valley's state qualifiers, Kevin Puliti at 120 and Griffin Hollingsworth at 132, lead four Jaguars on the first team, tied with Conestoga for a high. Eleven of the 12 schools in the league had representatives among the 21 first-teamers. All four classes are represented, including Ridley freshman 106-pounder Rocco Hartfuss landing on the first team.

The full list of All-Central selections is below. Note: The All-Central teams are selected by league coaches. The Daily Times has no input in the process whatsoever.

First Team

106: Rocco Hartfuss, Fr., Ridley
113: Keito Shaw, Sr., Upper Darby
120: Kevin Puliti, Sr., Garnet Valley
126: Nikko Partsanakis, So., Penncrest; Mitch Baker, So., Conestoga
132: Griffin Hollingsworth, Jr., Garnet Valley
138: Chase Barlow, Jr., Strath Haven
145: Christian Hodges, Sr., Lower Merion
152: Jimmy Nania, Jr., Marple Newtown; Shane Lozano, Jr., Haverford
160: Roberto Lesser, Sr., Harriton
170: James Lledo, Sr., Lower Merion; Damian Falcone, So., Radnor
182: Shane McAdams, Sr., Haverford; Dillon Conlon, Sr., Garnet Valley; Nico Arbes, Jr., Conestoga; Gabe Federico, Jr., Strath Haven
195: Matt Hamilton, Sr., Conestoga
220: Sam DiTrolio, So., Garnet Valley; Matt Paloma, Sr., Conestoga
285: Julien Laventure, So., Upper Darby

Second Team

106: Petros Karamanides, So., Radnor
113: Jack Lacianca, Jr., Haverford; Matt Ricci, So., Garnet Valley; Matt Boye, Fr., Conestoga
120: Jake Methlie, Jr., Springfield
126: Daniel Husain, So., Garnet Valley
132: Kevin Rainey, Jr., Ridley
138: Morgan Lofland, Jr., Conestoga
145: Luke Fink, Sr., Harriton
160: Bobby Hydrisko, Sr., Radnor
170: Desmond Perry, Jr., Garnet Valley
195: Isaiah Poindexter, Jr., Upper Darby
220: Patrick Kerwood, Jr., Upper Darby
285: Daetrel Jerome, Jr., Radnor; Hayden Brown, Fr., Ridley

Honorable Mention

106: Farhan Chowdury, Jr., Upper Darby; Alec Calvitti, Fr., Conestoga
120: Zack Fluck, Fr., Radnor
126: Kelton Brunner, So., Strath Haven; David Rainey, Fr., Ridley
132: Jack Lledo, So., Lower Merion; Sal Kaufman, Jr., Strath Haven
138: Charlie Dawes, Jr., Strath Haven
145: Dan Tomarelli, Sr., Springfield
152: Ezra Toll, Sr., Conestoga
160: Jake Allred, Fr., Conestoga; Don Reimer, Jr., Haverford
170: Matt Kirchgasser, Sr., Penncrest
195: Jon Harwood, So., Haverford
220: Ian Trotter, Jr., Strath Haven
285: Nick Mahoney, So., Garnet Valley

[ return to previous page ]